A Note on Hiking a Volcano in Dress Shoes


With every apprehensive step up the base of Volcan San Pedro, the distance between Ori | Patrick | myself grows larger as my feet sink into the layers of volcanic vegetation. “It wasn’t this difficult at the beginning of the climb”, I think to myself as the weight of the bag on my back pulls me in the opposite direction. Sweating this much wasn’t part of the plan either. Then again, I am climbing a volcano. And more specifically, I am climbing a volcano in a pair of black khakis | dress shoes | a black long-sleeved shirt. The smooth | slippery bottoms of my Kenneth Coles are no match for Ori and Patrick’s hiking boots. With envy, I stare in sweat-induced bewilderment as the two of them seemingly float up the side of the volcano while I slide back down the base with every sinking step. In no mood to be bested by my companions, I continue the climb. The volcanic forest takes on a jungle-like atmosphere as it grows thicker and darker around us. And the fact that Patrick is an expert mountain climber | Ori is an ex-Israeli soldier, means these two fitter | faster | stronger human beings are only making this hike more interesting for this increasingly humble narrator.

All images (with the exception of the mountain view photo) were captured with my GoPro.

This entry was published on January 14, 2013 at 11:38 pm and is filed under Guatemala, images, photos. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “A Note on Hiking a Volcano in Dress Shoes

  1. Pingback: Snapshot: Pigs « oshkoshblogjosh

  2. Pingback: Snapshot: Class « j.t.kendagor

Leave a Reply

